The Bauchi State University which started its first academic session in 2011/2012 was commissioned on 3rd November 2013 by His Excellency the Vice President, Arch. Muhammad Namadi Sambo, GCON.

The Bauchi State University has three campuses as follows:
Gadau Campus: This is the main campus where the University is centrally administered. Two faculties located here are the Faculty of Arts & Education and the Faculty of Science.
Bauchi Campus: The Faculty of Social & Management Sciences is situated here.
Misau Campus: This houses the Faculty of Law.